International Contextual Architecture Award 2022 in memory of Turgut Cansever

Procedure : OpenCategory : Professional
Region II - Eastern Europe and the Middle East | Turkey

Antalya Kepez Municipality, in cooperation with the Antalya Branch of the Chamber of Architects of Turkey, has organised the “The International Contextual Architecture Awards in memory of Architect Turgut Cansever”.

Endorsed by the International Union of Architects (UIA), these Awards seek proposals that exhibit original interpretations of Turkish Architect Turgut Cansever’s design principles.

Known for his contextual approach to architecture and urban planning prioritising regional expression, context-specific design and architectural quality, Turgut Cansever (1921-2009) is the only architect ever to win the Aga Khan Award for Architecture three times.

The Awards are divided into three parts:

  • The Turgut Cansever Grand Prix, which recognises an architect whose lifelong commitment to a contextual approach to the contemporary built environment prioritises local and regional identity as well as environmental sensibilities.
  • The Turgut Cansever International Award, attributed to an architectural project by an architect or architectural firm from any country in the world. The project should embody the values Turget Cansever emphasised in his own work.
  • The Turgut Cansever Local Award recognising an architectural project realised in the province of Antalya, Turkey and embodying the values Turgut Cansever emphasised in his own work.
Keywords : Culture, Heritage

Theme and objectives

The award seeks to highlight the importance of local identity in a globalised world.


The award is open to architects from all countries who have realised projects, either individually or as a team.

Jury Members

The international jury is composed of Süha Özkan (Turkey), C. Abdi Güzer (Turkey), Juhani Pallasmaa (Finland), Raj Rewal (India) and UIA Representative Iman Gawad (Egypt). The alternate members are Deniz Büyükkurt (Turkey) and Katerina Korbut (Belarus).


In each category, the winner will receive:

Turgut Cansever Grand Prize: 25 000 TL (approximately 2 315 Euros)

Turgut Cansever International Prize: 20 000 TL (approximately 1 852 Euros)

Turgut Cansever Local Award: 15 000 TL (approximately 1 389 Euros)